Andy Schleck Receives Trophy For Winning 2010 Tour de France

Andy Schleck got the second place in the 2010 edition of Tour de France.

Alberto Contador finished first in that race but he was disqualified after he was found guilty of doping and consequently Schleck was declared winner of the 2010 Tour de France. Schleck received the trophy for winning the 2010 Tour de France on Thursday, 27th November 2014, about 4 years after he was declared winner.

He announced his retirement from the sport in the month of October this year. Schleck, 29, announced his retirement on account of his injuries. He said that he still wants to continue racing but he won’t be able to as his injuries are severe.

The trophy was presented to him by the French President, Francois Hollande who happens to be a fan of Schleck, at the Elysee Palace which is in Paris. He was presented the Yellow Jersey in May 2012 by the general director of Tour de France, Christian Proudhomme. Schleck couldn’t be given the winner’s trophy earlier because Contador didn’t return it.

Schleck earlier had expressed his disappointment at not being able to receive the winner’s trophy. Jean Asselborn, Luxembourg’s foreign affairs minister arranged Schleck’s appointment with the president at the palace. He said that as Contador didn’t give back the trophy, it couldn’t be presented to Schleck but he believed that Schleck will win the Tour again. Asselborn came to know of Schleck’s disappointment at not being able to receive the trophy and after he announced his retirement, Asselborn immediately decided to present Schleck with the Trophy. He also that that President Hollande told him that he’s a fan of Andy Schleck multiple times and thus he decided that the trophy would be presented to Schleck by the French president. Schleck said that it was an honour for him to be able to meet the President of France.